There is no single best book summary app. The right one depends on what you want from it: breadth, depth, a daily habit, visuals, business reading or practice. Blinkist fits readers who want a large catalog of short summaries to sample. Shortform fits readers who want chapter-by-chapter depth with analysis, and Headway fits people building a daily habit with challenges and flashcards.
Imprint teaches through illustrated lessons and short courses. getAbstract covers business reading, including through an employer's learning program. Deepstash serves one idea at a time on illustrated cards. Knotd turns a book's ideas into short exercises and quizzes you answer. This page adds a fact table built only from each company's own pages and a map of the apps that do a different job, such as full audiobooks or keeping your own highlights, because sometimes the right pick is not a summary app at all.
Knotd publishes this page, and Knotd is one of the apps below. Facts checked: 14 October 2026.
How we compared
Every fact about an app here comes from a page the company wrote about itself: its US App Store listing, its Google Play listing or its own website. We opened all of them on 14 October 2026 and name them in each app's section and in the sources at the end. Where a listing and a website give different numbers, we use the listing's figure.
We looked at the same six things for every app:
- Catalog: what the app says it covers, in its own numbers.
- Formats: text, audio, visuals, exercises.
- Audio: whether there is any, and what the company says about who narrates it.
- Review or practice: anything built to help you recall an idea later, such as flashcards or quizzes.
- Platforms: iPhone, Android, web.
- Free option: a free tier, a free trial, or neither, as the company describes it.
Three things are left out on purpose. We print no prices, because they differ by country and change often; the App Store page shows the price in your region. We show App Store ratings only with the store and the date, and we leave out Knotd's own rating because we publish this page. We also name no overall winner. Google's guidance on writing high-quality reviews suggests explaining which product suits which use, and that is the more useful answer for a choice like this.
Knotd is our app. We take no payments or affiliate fees from the other apps here; our editorial standards explain how we write about other products. Whether summaries are worth your time at all is a separate question, which we answer in are book summary apps worth it.
The best book summary app for each need, at a glance
Ratings are from the US App Store on 14 October 2026, rounded the way the store shows them.
| App | Best for | Formats | Platforms | Free option | US App Store rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blinkist | Sampling many books | Text and audio summaries, audio Guides | iOS, Android, web | One free summary a day | 4.8 (157K) |
| Shortform | Depth and analysis | One-page and chapter guides, audio, exercises | iOS, Android, web | Free trial | 4.6 (1.4K) |
| Headway | A daily habit | Text and audio summaries, challenges, flashcards | iOS, Android, web | One free summary a day | 4.6 (117K) |
| Imprint | Visual learners | Illustrated courses and book guides, quizzes | iOS, Android | Not stated | 4.8 (58K) |
| getAbstract | Business reading at work | Text and audio summaries, 7 app languages | iOS, Android, web | 3-day free trial | 4.5 (288) |
| Deepstash | One idea at a time | Illustrated idea cards, audio on Pro | iOS, Android | Free plan | 4.7 (79K) |
| Knotd (ours) | Practicing ideas | Narrated audio and text, Bits exercises, quizzes | iOS, Android | 3 books free | Left out (ours) |
Every app in the table has an iPhone app, so if you want the best book summary app for iPhone, the other columns will decide it. "Not stated" means the company's own pages didn't say, and we chose a blank over a guess.
The apps, one by one
Each entry uses the same five fields, in the same order, so you can compare them without a ranking from us.
Blinkist
In its own words. Blinkist's App Store listing describes key ideas from "9,000+ top books and podcasts" as short audio and text summaries, covering both nonfiction and fiction. It says more than 42 million people use it (October 2026).
What stands out. The free Basic tier gives you one summary a day, picked by its editorial team. Premium opens the full library, offline mode, Send to Kindle and audio Guides curated by experts. A higher tier, Blinkist Pro, adds Blinkist AI, which summarizes articles, PDFs and videos you bring to it.
Who it suits. Readers who like to sample many books and decide later which ones to read in full, and people who want to listen on a commute or at the gym.
If you want something else. For a chapter-level guide to one book, see Shortform. For more apps built in a similar way, see our list of Blinkist alternatives.
Source: Blinkist on the US App Store and Blinkist's help center, which covers its website as well as its apps, opened 14 October 2026.
Shortform
In its own words. Shortform's listing says its summaries give a book's key ideas "plus analysis comparing those ideas to other books." Its homepage lists "12,000+ Books Covered" and "1,000+ Article and Topic Guides" (October 2026).
What stands out. Each book gets a one-page summary and a chapter-by-chapter guide. The listing also describes audio narration, interactive exercises that ask you to apply a lesson to your own life, highlights and notes, printable PDFs and an offline mode. The homepage lists web, iOS and Android apps and four languages: English, Spanish, German and Brazilian Portuguese.
Who it suits. People who want the whole argument of a book with context from other books, such as a reader who would otherwise work through the full text or wants to discuss it at work.
If you want something else. For a short daily read, see Blinkist or Headway.
Source: Shortform on the US App Store and shortform.com, opened 14 October 2026.
Headway
In its own words. Headway's App Store name is "Headway - Daily Micro Learning," and its listing describes "1700+ book summaries" of nonfiction bestsellers that you can read or listen to (October 2026).
What stands out. It's built around a daily routine: a short session each day, challenges on themes such as wealth or self-confidence, and content picked to match the goals you set. A spaced-repetition feature turns saved insights into flashcards, and the listing notes you can also flashcard unfamiliar English words. Its website adds offline listening and access from a desktop browser as well as iOS and Android, and its plans page describes a free version with one summary a day.
Who it suits. People who want a nudge every day and a plan shaped around their goals. The word flashcards are a useful extra for anyone reading in English as a second language.
If you want something else. For lessons built around illustrations, see Imprint.
Source: Headway on the US App Store and makeheadway.com, opened 14 October 2026.
Imprint
In its own words. Imprint's listing calls it a "visual guide to the world's most important knowledge," and its website's tagline is "The world's most important knowledge, visualized" (October 2026).
What stands out. The catalog mixes three kinds of content: courses (the listing names a philosophy course with Professor John Kaag and one on finance and investing), quick reads, and visual guides to bestsellers such as Sapiens and Atomic Habits. The listing describes daily quizzes and a way to save and review the visuals you want to keep. The website links to iOS and Android apps.
Who it suits. Visual learners, and people who want short courses on a subject (philosophy or money, for example) as well as guides to individual books.
If you want something else. For audio you can play on a walk, see Blinkist or Headway.
Source: Imprint on the US App Store and imprintapp.com, opened 14 October 2026.
getAbstract
In its own words. getAbstract's listing describes key insights from "25,000+ of the best nonfiction and business books, articles and video talks." Its website says it has been curating since 1999 and works with 850+ publishers (the listing says 800+ partners), and its homepage leads with an offer for companies: verified knowledge for enterprise AI and learning teams (October 2026).
What stands out. You can read or listen, in seven languages in the app. Channels curated by experts group summaries by topic. The Pro plan adds offline access, downloads and Send to Kindle. The listing says getAbstract requests rights for every title from publishers and authors, and that over a third of Fortune 100 companies use it.
Who it suits. Business readers, especially people whose employer already provides it, and anyone who wants summaries in German, Spanish, Chinese, French, Portuguese or Russian as well as English.
If you want something else. For personal-growth topics with a daily plan, see Headway.
Source: getAbstract on the US App Store and getabstract.com, opened 14 October 2026.
Deepstash
In its own words. Deepstash's listing offers "carefully curated ideas from the world's most popular books" on illustrated cards, and says more than 11 million people use it. Its website and listing both count 200,000+ ideas (October 2026).
What stands out. Content comes one idea at a time rather than one book at a time, and ideas come from articles, podcasts and videos as well as books. You can save ideas into collections ("stashes") and write your own. The free plan covers reading; the listing says Pro adds audio, offline access and no ads.
Who it suits. People who want a single idea to read while waiting for a coffee, and who like building a personal collection of ideas from many sources.
If you want something else. For the structure of a whole book, see Shortform.
Source: Deepstash on the US App Store and deepstash.com, opened 14 October 2026.
Knotd (our app)
What it is. Knotd is our app. It has the key ideas from 250+ nonfiction bestsellers as narrated audio and text. It runs on iPhone and Android.
What stands out. The app is built around practicing ideas, not only taking them in. Bits are seven learning formats you page through, one idea at a time. In Hot Take you swipe a common belief right for true or left for myth, then read the author's answer; for The Psychology of Money, one card asks whether saving only makes sense when you're saving for something specific. In Spot the Trap you read a short case and tap the line where the reasoning goes wrong; one case from Thinking, Fast and Slow has a fan driving into a snowstorm because the concert tickets are already paid for. Your Move lets you choose what to say in a short story, and Patchwork asks what stories from different books have in common. Key Cards, Name That Idea and Underlined round out the seven.
Book pages add a Mixed review quiz, with a reason for every answer, and "Ask about this book," a chat for your own questions about it. Learn paths put books in order; the Founder Path runs in five stages, from finding an idea, through winning your first customers and building the team, to money and scale. Streaks, weekly leagues and friends are there if they help you.
Who it suits. People who want to test themselves on what they've read or heard, on their phone. The free tier covers 3 books, 30 questions a day and 6 Bits a day; Premium opens every book, 200 questions and 10 Bits a day.
If you want something else. For a bigger catalog, compare the counts above. For the web, the platforms column in the table shows which apps run there.
Source: our own product, on the App Store and Google Play; facts as of 14 October 2026.
What to check in an audiobook summaries app
If you'll mostly listen, these details change the experience more than catalog size does. Check each one in the free tier or trial before you commit.
- Who narrates. Few listings say. Headway's website says its summaries are produced by writers, editors and "sound actors." Shortform's homepage says every guide includes full audio narration, without naming the voice. Blinkist and getAbstract describe audio summaries without saying who reads them. Knotd's audio is narrated by Laura, an AI voice. Play one sample at the speed you normally listen at; it tells you more than any listing.
- Text alongside the audio. Blinkist, Shortform, Headway, getAbstract and Knotd all offer the same summary as text and audio, so you can switch between them. Knotd's chapter reader also has a "Follow along while listening" setting for reading the text as the audio plays.
- Offline listening. The listings for Blinkist Premium, Shortform and getAbstract Pro describe offline use, Headway's website mentions downloading to listen offline, and Deepstash lists offline access as a Pro feature. If you listen on the subway or a flight, confirm the download option in your plan.
- Playback speed. None of the summary-app listings above mention speed controls, so test it yourself. For full audiobooks, Libby's site says you can raise playback speed up to 3x.
If you want to remember what you read
The case for a book summary app with quizzes rests on the testing effect. In two 2006 experiments, students who practiced recalling a prose passage remembered more of it two days and a week later than students who reread it, although rereading did better on a test taken shortly after studying (Roediger and Karpicke, Psychological Science). Rereading also made students more confident they would remember, even though they remembered less. That is the trap with any summary you only read or play again: it feels like learning. The study used students and short passages in a lab, so treat it as a strong hint rather than a guarantee for book apps.
The review and practice features each app's own pages describe:
| App | Review or practice feature (as each company describes it, October 2026) |
|---|---|
| Headway | Spaced-repetition flashcards made from insights you save |
| Imprint | Daily quizzes, plus saved visuals you can review |
| Shortform | Interactive exercises that ask you to apply a lesson to your life; highlights and notes |
| Deepstash | Saved ideas organized into collections |
| Readwise | A daily review of highlights from books and articles you read in full |
| Knotd | Bits exercises (true-or-myth calls, story choices, spotting the flaw in a case) and a Mixed review quiz on book pages |
As an example of the Knotd row, for Atomic Habits a Name That Idea page gives you a term such as "habit stacking," asks you to pick its meaning from three options, then asks you to spot it in an everyday moment. For the method behind all of this, including how to space reviews out, see how to remember what you read.
Apps that do a different job
The best app for nonfiction books depends on the job you need done. Summary apps give you key ideas. Other apps give you the whole book, keep your highlights or track what you read, and many people use two of them side by side.
| The job | Apps that do it | What each one's own page says (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Full ebooks | Kindle, Apple Books, Libby | Kindle offers over six million Kindle books with free samples. Apple Books sells books and audiobooks with no subscription needed. Libby lends ebooks, audiobooks and magazines free with a card from a participating library. |
| Full audiobooks | Audible, Libby, Apple Books | Audible lists 1M+ audiobooks, plus Audible Originals and podcasts. Libby and Apple Books also carry audiobooks. |
| Key ideas | The seven apps above | Summaries, cards, courses or exercises, depending on the app. |
| Your own highlights | Readwise | Collects highlights from Kindle, Apple Books, Instapaper, Medium, Goodreads and paper books, then brings some back each day. |
| Podcasts | Snipd | A tap on your headphones saves a moment with a transcript and AI summary, and it syncs to tools like Notion and Readwise. |
| Tracking and community | Goodreads | A free book tracker and reading community with more than 150 million members, with shelves, ratings, reviews and a yearly Reading Challenge. |
One setup that covers most of these jobs: use a summary app to decide which books deserve your full attention, read those in full on Kindle, Apple Books or Libby, and let Readwise bring your highlights back. If you read Deep Work in full and highlight it on Kindle, for example, Readwise can keep bringing those highlights back long after you finish. For more books in this area, browse the self-improvement shelf.
Before you start a free trial
A short checklist to run in the first day of any trial:
- Search for three books you want to read now, not the ones on the home screen. Catalog counts tell you size; they can't tell you if your books are there.
- Play the audio at your usual speed and listen to a full section, ideally on your normal commute.
- Try the review feature once. Save something, then come back the next day and see whether the app brings it back or tests you on it.
- Check the platforms you use. If you switch between an iPhone and an Android tablet, or read at a desk, confirm the app runs on all of them.
- Note the trial end date. App Store subscriptions renew unless you cancel at least 24 hours before the period ends, as the Headway and Imprint listings spell out, so set a reminder for two days before.




