Not sure what to read next? Find your plan in 2 minutes →

Book summary apps

Blinkist alternatives, sorted by what you want from a reading app

Blinkist alternatives grouped by what you want more of: depth, a daily habit, visuals, quizzes or free books, plus free tiers checked on each app's page.

By Knotd EditorsPublished 12 min read

Facts about other apps checked October 2026, from each company's own pages.

In this article
  1. What Blinkist does well
  2. Apps like Blinkist, by what you want instead
  3. Free Blinkist alternatives compared
  4. Blinkist vs Headway, Shortform and getAbstract
  5. How to switch without losing what you saved

The best Blinkist alternative depends on what you want more of. If you want more depth on each book, Shortform's chapter-by-chapter guides fit. If you want a daily routine with challenges and flashcards, Headway is built around one. If you want to practice and test yourself on what you read, Knotd turns each book into short exercises. If you want whole books for free, Libby lends ebooks and audiobooks through your public library.

The other Blinkist alternatives below cover five more jobs, from visual courses to business reading your employer may already pay for. Then come a free-tier table checked on each company's own pages and a one-week plan that tests two apps against your memory, not your impressions.

Knotd publishes this page, and Knotd is one of the apps below. How we compared: every fact about an app comes from its own US App Store or Google Play listing, website or help center, opened on October 14, 2026. We didn't test the apps hands-on for this page, and we leave out prices because they change and differ by country. For a full fact table of every app, see our book summary apps compared.

What Blinkist does well

Start with what you'd give up. Blinkist's App Store listing (October 2026) says it covers "9,000+ top books and podcasts" as short text and audio summaries, fiction as well as nonfiction. Its free Basic tier gives you one summary a day, picked by its editorial team.

Premium adds the full library, personalized recommendations, audio Guides curated by experts, offline downloads and sending summaries to a Kindle. A Premium account also comes with a second account you can give to a friend or family member.

The top tier is easy to miss. Blinkist Pro adds Blinkist AI, which the listing says summarizes articles, PDFs and videos and answers follow-up questions about them. Blinkist's help center says the yearly plan comes with a 7-day free trial when it's offered, and that each account can start a trial once.

Stay with Blinkist if you like sampling many books before committing to one, or if you want podcasts and AI summaries of articles, PDFs and videos in the same app as your books. If breadth is what you want, Blinkist is hard to replace. The rest of this page is for people who want one thing done differently.

Apps like Blinkist, by what you want instead

These are grouped by job, not ranked. Each entry says who the app suits, how the company describes it, and one feature that shows the difference.

More depth on each book: Shortform

Suits: readers who would otherwise read the whole book and want the full argument laid out.

Shortform's homepage (October 2026) counts "13,000+ books, articles, and podcasts summarized" and lists more than 1,000 article and topic guides. Its App Store listing says each summary has the book's key ideas "plus analysis comparing those ideas to other books."

The feature that shows the difference: the listing describes two layers, a one-page summary for the gist and a chapter-by-chapter summary with analysis, plus interactive exercises that ask you to apply a lesson to your own life. Guides come with audio narration and printable PDFs. Shortform runs on the web, iOS and Android, in English, Spanish, German and Brazilian Portuguese.

A daily habit with challenges: Headway

Suits: people who want a nudge every day and a plan built around their goals.

Headway's App Store listing (October 2026) describes "daily micro learning" built from nonfiction bestsellers, with "1700+ book summaries" to read or listen to. Its website says it runs on iOS, Android and desktop browsers, and its plans page says the free version gives you one summary a day.

The feature: self-growth challenges on themes such as Success, Wealth and Emotional Intelligence, and a spaced-repetition feature that turns insights you like into flashcards. The listing adds that you can turn unfamiliar English words into flashcards too. Widgets put a quote or insight on your home screen.

Pictures and short courses: Imprint

Suits: visual learners, and people who want a short course on a subject as well as book guides.

Imprint's website calls it "The world's most important knowledge, visualized." Its App Store listing (October 2026) lists courses such as philosophy with Professor John Kaag and finance and investing, "quick reads" on single topics, and visual guides to bestsellers such as Sapiens.

The feature: ideas are taught through illustrations, a short chapter at a time, and daily quizzes check what you kept. You can save visuals to review later. Imprint is on iOS and Android.

A few ideas a day: Deepstash

Suits: people who want to dip into single ideas from many books rather than read one book's summary end to end.

Deepstash's App Store listing (October 2026) describes "carefully curated ideas from the world's most popular books," presented as idea cards paired with artwork. The listing says the free tier opens "200,000+" ideas from books, articles, podcasts and videos.

The feature: you save ideas into collections, one for a work project and another for a personal goal, then search them later. Pro adds audio playback, offline access, no ads and your full reading history. If your real aim is to swap feed-scrolling for reading, our guide to replacing doomscrolling with learning covers that habit itself.

Practice and quizzes on what you read: Knotd

Suits: people who finish a summary, feel they understood it, and a week later can't recall the main idea.

Knotd is our app. It has the key ideas from 250+ nonfiction bestsellers as narrated audio and text, then asks you to use them through seven learning formats called Bits, one idea per page. In Thinking, Fast and Slow, Spot the Trap hands you a short case file, such as a fan deciding whether to drive through a snowstorm to a gig she has already paid for. You tap the line where the quick answer takes over, then name the trap.

In The Mom Test, Your Move tells a story a scene at a time: you've built an app to cut no-shows at hair salons, a salon owner asks for the big idea, and you choose what to say. Show her the app and ask if she'd use it, and she says yes, then stops replying to your texts; the story calls that move fishing for compliments. Hot Take shows common beliefs as cards you swipe true or myth.

A Mixed review quiz at the end of a book gives hints and a reason for every answer, and an "Ask about this book" chat takes your own questions. Learn paths put books in order: the Founder Path runs from finding an idea and building what people want to winning your first customers, building the team, and money and scale. Knotd is on iPhone and Android.

Business reading through your employer: getAbstract

Suits: professionals whose company already pays for it, and anyone who reads mostly business books and reports.

getAbstract's App Store listing (October 2026) counts 25,000+ summaries of nonfiction and business books, articles and video talks, in seven languages. It says getAbstract requests rights for every title from publishers and authors, and names 800+ partners, among them The Economist and Penguin Random House.

The feature: it's built for companies. The listing says over a third of Fortune 100 companies use it for employees and executives, so check your company's learning portal before paying for any app. The individual Pro plan adds PDF, audio and ePub downloads and sending to a Kindle.

The whole book, free: Libby with a library card

Suits: anyone who wants the full book rather than a summary and has a library card.

Libby is OverDrive's app for borrowing ebooks, audiobooks and magazines "for free from your local library," according to OverDrive's Libby page (October 2026). You sign in with a card from a participating library, and the catalog is your library's collection.

The feature: you read or listen in the app and can download titles for offline use. Libby runs on iPhone, iPad, Android, Fire tablets and the web at libbyapp.com. It pairs well with a summary app: the summary helps you decide, and the library supplies the books worth reading in full. If you're still deciding whether summaries are worth paying for at all, we weigh that in are book summary apps worth it.

Learning from podcasts: Snipd

Suits: people who learn more from podcasts than from books. It works alongside a book app rather than replacing one.

Snipd's App Store listing (October 2026) calls it an "AI Podcast Player." Tap your headphones while listening and it saves the moment with an AI-generated transcript and summary.

The feature: those saved snips sync to Notion and Readwise, so ideas from podcasts land in the same notes as ideas from books. The free plan includes unlimited listening and AI features on two episodes a week, according to Snipd's pricing page (October 2026).

Keeping your own highlights: Readwise

Suits: people who already read full books on Kindle or Apple Books and highlight a lot. It works alongside any book app.

Readwise's App Store listing (October 2026) says it makes it "fun & easy to revisit your highlights" in one place. It imports from Kindle, Apple Books, Instapaper, Medium and Goodreads, and from paper books: you photograph a page and highlight with your finger.

The feature: Readwise resurfaces your highlights through a daily email and the app, using spaced repetition, and you can turn the best ones into flashcards. Readwise's site links to iOS and Android apps and a web dashboard.

Free Blinkist alternatives compared

Most of these apps offer a free tier or a free trial, and a few offer both. A free tier is what you keep without paying; a trial gives you the paid app for a set time and then bills you unless you cancel. The table shows what each company's own page said on the day we checked.

App What the free version includes Trial offered Platforms Checked
Blinkist Basic: one summary a day, picked by its editors 7 days on the yearly plan, when offered iOS, Android, web Oct 14, 2026
Shortform No free tier on its homepage Yes, with full access Web, iOS, Android Oct 14, 2026
Headway One summary a day, read or listen Yes; terms shown in the app iOS, Android, web Oct 14, 2026
Imprint Not described on its listing Not stated on its listing iOS, Android Oct 14, 2026
Deepstash Its library of idea cards; Pro adds audio and offline Not stated on its listing iOS, Android Oct 14, 2026
Knotd 3 books, 30 questions a day, 6 Bits a day Terms shown in the App Store iOS, Android Oct 14, 2026
getAbstract No free tier described Listing mentions a 3-day trial iOS, Android, web Oct 14, 2026
Libby Whole ebooks and audiobooks with a library card Not needed iOS, Android, Fire tablets, web Oct 14, 2026
Snipd Unlimited listening; AI features on two episodes a week 1 week of Premium iOS, Android Oct 14, 2026
Readwise No free tier described 30 days, no card upfront iOS, Android, web Oct 14, 2026

Two notes on reading the table. Blinkist's and Headway's free versions are close in shape: one summary a day, chosen for you. Libby is the only option where the whole book is free, so it suits you if your library carries the books on your list.

Blinkist vs Headway, Shortform and getAbstract

Each pair below says where the two apps differ and who each one suits. None of them is a verdict.

Blinkist vs Headway

Both apps give short text-and-audio summaries of nonfiction bestsellers and a daily session to start the day. The difference is structure. Headway's listing centers on challenges grouped by life area, a plan built from your goals, spaced-repetition flashcards and widgets. Blinkist's listing centers on range: 9,000+ titles including podcasts and fiction, expert Guides, and Blinkist AI in its Pro tier. Choose Headway if you want the app to set a daily plan and keep you on it. Choose Blinkist if you'd rather pick from a wide shelf yourself.

Blinkist vs Shortform

The difference is length and analysis. Shortform gives each book a one-page summary and a chapter-by-chapter guide that sets the author's ideas against other books, plus exercises. Blinkist keeps each summary short so you can get through more titles. Choose Shortform if you're deciding whether to act on a book's argument and want the detail and how it compares with other books. Choose Blinkist if you want the gist of many books so you can pick the few you'll read in full.

getAbstract vs Blinkist

The difference is audience. getAbstract focuses on business and nonfiction books, articles and video talks, works with publishers on rights, and offers its app in seven languages. Its listing says over a third of Fortune 100 companies use it for their staff. Blinkist's listing is written for individuals, with personal-growth reading, podcasts and fiction, and Blinkist also sells a business plan, Blinkist Business, which has its own section in Blinkist's help center. Choose getAbstract if your employer already provides it or you want summaries in a language other than English. Choose Blinkist if you're paying yourself and your reading goes beyond work.

How to switch without losing what you saved

Your saved titles and highlights take a little planning to move, so do these steps before you cancel anything.

  1. Save your list first. Blinkist's help center explains where your highlights live: in your Library under the marker icon on mobile, or under Highlights on the web. Each highlight has a Share option. That help page doesn't describe a bulk export (checked October 2026), so make a list of your saved titles and share the few highlights you want to keep into your notes app.
  2. List your next ten books. Write down the ten books you plan to read next, then search each candidate app for them. Catalogs differ in size and focus: getAbstract leans toward business, and Libby depends on your library. If you need ideas for the list, the self-improvement shelf is one place to start.
  3. Check whether work pays. Look in your company's learning portal or ask HR before you pay for anything. Some employers already provide a summary service.
  4. Run two apps side by side for a week, using their free tiers or trials. Note when each trial ends and set a reminder for the day before.

A one-week side-by-side plan

The last day matters most, because feeling that you understood a summary is a poor guide to what you'll keep. In Roediger and Karpicke's 2006 study of the testing effect, students who took recall tests on prose passages remembered more two days and a week later than students who reread the same passages, even though rereading made them feel more confident. On a test given right after studying, rereading came out ahead; the gain from testing showed only after a delay. Those were students reading short passages in a lab, so treat it as a reason to judge an app days later, not as a promise about any app.

  • Day 1: Pick three books both apps carry. Make two of them a close match, such as Atomic Habits and The Power of Habit, and give one to each app, so the recall test compares the apps more than the books. Keep the third as a shared book for Day 6.
  • Days 2 to 5: Use both apps every day at the same kind of moment, such as one on the way to work and one on the way home. Swap the order each day so neither app always gets your fresher slot.
  • After each session: Write one line: whether you finished, and whether you opened the app without a reminder.
  • Day 6: Open the shared book in both apps, back to back, and note which version you'd rather come back to.
  • Day 7, the recall test: Without opening either app, write down everything you remember from each app's book. Then check your notes against the apps.
  • Decide: Keep the app whose book you remembered better and that you opened without being pushed. Cancel any trial you won't keep before it bills.

Learn from books on Knotd

Knotd turns the key ideas from 250+ nonfiction bestsellers into narrated audio, text and short exercises you answer, so you practice the ideas instead of only reading them. Free on iPhone for three books.

Get Knotd on the App Store

Questions

Is there a free app like Blinkist?

Yes. As of October 2026, Blinkist's own Basic tier gives you one free summary a day, and Headway's free version also gives one summary a day to read or listen to. Deepstash's free tier opens its library of short idea cards, and Knotd is free for three books, 30 questions a day and 6 Bits a day. For whole books rather than summaries, Libby is free with a card from a participating library.

Which Blinkist alternative has the most books?

The counts mix books with articles and podcasts, so they don't compare cleanly. As of October 2026, getAbstract's App Store listing counts 25,000+ summaries of books, articles and video talks, Shortform's homepage counts 13,000+ books, articles and podcasts summarized, and Blinkist's listing says 9,000+ books and podcasts. Libby's catalog is whatever your own library holds.

Is there a Blinkist alternative on Android?

Yes. Shortform, Headway, Imprint, Deepstash, getAbstract, Snipd, Readwise and Libby all point to Android apps on their own websites (October 2026). Knotd is on Google Play too.

Sources

  1. Blinkist: Book Summaries Daily, US App Store listing (Blinks Labs GmbH), accessed
  2. Blinkist: Book Summaries Daily, Google Play listing (Blinks Labs GmbH), accessed
  3. Blinkist Help Center (collections, including Blinkist Business), accessed
  4. Blinkist Help Center: Do you offer a trial? How does it work? (updated March 19, 2026), accessed
  5. Blinkist Help Center: How can I highlight quotes in a Blink? (updated July 1, 2025), accessed
  6. Shortform Daily Book Summaries, US App Store listing (Shortform Inc.), accessed
  7. Shortform homepage, accessed
  8. Headway - Daily Micro Learning, US App Store listing (GTHW App Limited), accessed
  9. Headway homepage, accessed
  10. Headway: How much does the Headway app cost? (free version and plans), accessed
  11. Imprint: Visual Micro Learning, US App Store listing (Polywise, Inc.), accessed
  12. Imprint homepage, accessed
  13. Deepstash, US App Store listing (Brainstash Inc), accessed
  14. Deepstash homepage, accessed
  15. getAbstract Book Summaries, US App Store listing (getAbstract, Inc.), accessed
  16. getAbstract homepage, accessed
  17. Libby, the library app (OverDrive), accessed
  18. Snipd | AI Podcast Player, US App Store listing (Snipd AG), accessed
  19. Snipd pricing page, accessed
  20. Readwise, US App Store listing (Readwise, Inc), accessed
  21. Readwise homepage, accessed
  22. Roediger & Karpicke (2006), Test-enhanced learning: taking memory tests improves long-term retention, Psychological Science (PubMed), accessed

Spotted an error? Our editorial standards say how we check facts and fix mistakes.